Hello from popossum!

Hello folks!

Long time lurker, finally created an account :slight_smile:

I’ve been collecting mechanical pencils for 20+ years, but only seriously dedicated a significant amount of time and resources to it from about 5-6 years ago. My collecting philosophy is fairly simple - it needs to be mechanically interesting. I’m fortunate enough to have been able to acquire all kinds of fabulous pencils over the years, including most of the high-end grails.

Look forward to talking more with you all!

10 Likes

Welcome to the Knockology crew!

Where abouts are you located?

1 Like

Welcome! Mechanically interesting can cover quite a bit. What are a few of your favorites?

2 Likes

I’m in California, USA.

2 Likes

It does indeed cover quite a bit - my collection has ballooned and savings have shrunk accordingly :stuck_out_tongue:

Favorites (this is going to be a long list):

Writing (somewhat in this order):
Kurutoga Dive (current daily driver, best pencil ever made for writing IMO and no, the mushy tip does not bother me at all)
Pentel QX (best of the old school “automatics” to write with, even though the mechanism is actually different from regular automatics)
Pilot H-5005, Automatic, Automac
Faber Castell TK-Matic, Alpha matic and Porsche Design Classic Line

Drawing/Drafting/Diagramming etc (when you need precision):
Hi-Uni FFMatics - 3051FF and 5050 (Because of my low grip, I don’t even have to change my grip to knock. No other pencils come anywhere near these. I prefer the balance and weight of the 3051FF over the 5050.)
Tombow Variable SH-1500VP
Tombow SH-1500LP
Staedtler 925 95

Eye Candy (because sometimes you just want to stare at some pretty stationery):
Tombow Zoom La Nave series (especially the V472, but the rest are also uniquely beautiful)
Sakura Free matic, Archi Y2
Uchida Drawing Sharp D and E

There’s probably a lot more that I’m missing, but these are what came to mind first.

11 Likes